Welcome to Mingalapar Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Hello, traveling to Myanmar in February 2014 and would appreciate suggestions/tips

yangon mandalay bagan philippines

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

nolan

nolan

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • LocationManila, Philippines

Hi, I am Nolan and I just registered for this Mingalapar forum today.

I am a travel management consultant for a US based consulting company and our focus is on travel management/strategy/etc. I used to manage a travel agency many years back and enjoy giving people travel advice. I am moderately well traveled (but not enough in my opinion), and Myanmar will be my 25th country to visit.

In this forum, I am the one seeking travel advice, and appreciate suggestions and tips you can share.

We travel to Yangon on February 16th from Bangkok, arriving in the morning. We are planning to spend the following time at various cities:

Yangon - February 16-17

night train no. 5 to Mandalay

Mandalay - February 18-20

bus or ferry from Mandalay to Bagan on February 20

Bagan - February 20-22

bus ride to Yangon February 22 (we were about to book flights but I stumbled upon this forum and got convinced to try out the JJ buses)

Yangon - overnight February 22

Back to the Philippines on February 23

There are about 5 of us in the travel party at certain stages in the trip. Some will follow and meet us at Mandalay on the 18th, and stay longer after Bagan. Unfortunately I only have a week for vacation so I will be flying back via Singapore on February 23rd.